Five Pillars of Islam

October 12,2017 - Published 2 years ago

Five Pillars of Islam

Islam is a religion of peace, prosperity, affection, kindness, sympathy and sacrifices whose building stands and based on the five sacred pillars. One who believes and practices upon these pillars is the true meaningful Muslim. The pillars of Islam are the framework of the Muslim life . They are the Shahadah (Testimony of Faith), Salah (Prayers), Zakat (Charity), Sawm (Fasting) and Hajj (Pilgrimage).

1.) Shahadah – (Testimony of Faith):

The Shahadah (testimony of faith) is the first and most important pillar of Islam. It is the most fundamental belief which is a declaration of faith and trust that لَا اِلٰہ اَلَّا اللہُ مُحَمَّدُ رَّسُول اللہ “There is no Lord except Almighty ALLAH عَزَّ وَجَلَّ and the Beloved Last Prophet صَلَّی اللہُ تَعَالٰی عَلَیْہِ وَاٰلِہٖ وَسَلَّمَ is the true Messenger of ALLAH عَزَّ وَجَلَّ .” The first part means that,” none is worthy to be worshipped but ALLAH عَزَّ وَجَلَّ alone, and that ALLAH عَزَّ وَجَلَّ has neither partner nor son”. The second part of the belief asserts that “محمد صَلَّی اللہُ تَعَالٰی عَلَیْہِ وَاٰلِہٖ وَسَلَّمَ is the last Messenger of ALLAH عَزَّ وَجَلَّ . In accepting Beloved Prophet صَلَّی اللہُ تَعَالٰی عَلَیْہِ وَاٰلِہٖ وَسَلَّمَ as the “Last of all Prophets عَلَیْہِمُ السَّلَام we Muslims believe that His Prophethood confirms and completes all of the revealed massages, beginning with that of Prophet Adamعَلَیْہِ السَّلَام . It is essential and mandatory to testify it to become a Muslim.

2.) Salah - (Mandatory Prayers):

The second pillar, the five daily prayers signifies the believer’s submission to ALLAH عَزَّ وَجَلَّ and shows as public, physical evidence of the believer’s adherence to Islam. Muslims must wash before every prayer, which is called Wuzu. The names of the five prayers are: Fajar, Zohar, Asr, Maghrib, and Isha. The Fajar prayer is performed before sunrise, Zohar is performed in the midday after the sun has passed its highest point, Asr is the evening prayer, Maghrib is the evening prayer after sunset and Isha is the night prayer. One must offer prayers at their specific times. Through the prayers, a Muslim maintains his relationship with ALLAH عَزَّ وَجَلَّ, comes to remember Him often and avoids falling into sins.

3.) Zakat – (Charity):

Zakat or Alms giving is the third pillar of Islam and it is mandatory on every Muslim who is financially strong and has income which is equal to amount prescribed by Sharia (Nisaab) besides his expenditures. The amount is set at one-fortieth or (2.5%), of the value all owned by a Muslim.

4.) Sawm – (Fasting):

The fourth pillar of Islam is Sawm (Fasting) in which Muslims have to fast in the sacred month of Ramadan . The believer is supposed to refrain from food, drink and sexual activity during fasting hours. Fasting is necessary for every Muslim that has reached puberty. The goal of fasting is to increase one’s piety and also to experience the pain and hunger experienced by the poor, needy and helpless.

5.) Hajj – (Pilgrimage):

The fifth pillar of Islam is Hajj (Pilgrimage) which offered in the month of Żul-Ḥijjaĥ to the holy city of Mecca. Pilgrimage to the house of ALLAH عَزَّ وَجَلَّ is mandatory for every Muslim who is physically and financially capable of making the journey and to complete the prescribed rites required to make a Hajj. One who has completed the journey of Hajj is called a Ḥāji. The Hajj is a visual proof of the brotherhood of humanity and their equality in servitude in front of ALLAH عَزَّ وَجَلَّ.

Comments (0)

Security Code